Been about a year.

It has been about a year since I started lifting weights. This time last year I was doing marathon prep, but it wasn’t meant to be. Today I just finished a 2-mile run that I’m partly embarrassed about, and partly proud of. The will to run 26.2 (and maybe more!) is there, but I guess I’m just aging.

Last April, I was having a lot of fun running in Japan. I hurt my knee in a spin class (LAST spin class for me), but it didn’t mess me up too badly. Once I started lifting weights in May or June, my knee got a lot better, and I got back up to half-marathon distances before I hurt my foot in November. I still don’t know how. Probably something to do with running on hills 75% of the time or more.

In the past few weeks, I’ve felt that it’s time to get back to training seriously. I decided to start with an 8-mile week. Four 2-milers only. I figured that was plenty conservative, but I was still stupid enough to try the first run in my super hilly neighborhood… which, yeah, the podiatrist warned about. Well, I got a tendonitis flare-up like mad, but iced, took naproxen, and prayed. I hope God doesn’t think I’m petty for praying for my foot, but anyway, that’s between him and me I guess.

Long story short, I got back on schedule Monday, and just did the second run for this week — on a treadmill.

I’m moving in a few weeks, and… what can I say? I have no idea where I’m going to run. I don’t know the “city” I’m moving to at all, except that it’s hotter than San Diego proper, since it is further inland. I won’t have a treadmill anymore. I will live WAY too far from the flat running courses I know of, which are mostly in south county. I don’t know.

I just want to get back to it though. I just want to at least do what I have been able to do in the past. I am in better shape now than I was before, even with my wimpy little foot! Time. Patience. That’s it, right?

Maybe it’s dumb, but… what if running could become a form of ministry in my life someday? I don’t mean I’m ministering to myself because it’s therapeutic to run. I mean… now that I’m a decent runner, and I have a lot of experience (mostly just doing things wrong — don’t worry, I’m not cocky), I feel like I both want to help people, and maybe even have the ability to help them. To help them run anyway. Is that ridiculous? But running brings me joy, so why can’t it bring joy to someone else? Isn’t bringing joy part of my job as a Christian?

Eh. Just some thoughts. I can’t believe it’s been a year since I started lifting weights. SO MUCH HAS CHANGED. Maybe my lower abs will even show next year (JUST KIDDING). But it is wonderful. I hope I will be smart and patient enough to make the right decisions about when to run and when not to, so that my foot gets strong again. Slow breaths.

Leave a Reply

